Write Up!

write-up-resources-and-notesWrite Up! is a program of inclusive and accessible peer support, mentoring and professional development opportunities for writers of all abilities.

With a focus on professional development experiences such as organised workshops, guest presentations and opportunities to connect with key literary arts communities, events and professionals, the group will also share ideas and support for creative development and work towards a presentation, reading or public event in 2017.

Most gatherings and workshops will be held 1-3pm in a friendly, wheelchair accessible venue in Wickham (see below for schedule). There is no cost to be involved.

The group will be headed up by Kerri Shying, an experienced disabled writer and poet, and our expert mentor is blogger Kimberly O’Sullivan who will help guide you through the commercial aspects of the game. Everyone is welcome!

Write Up! Timetable 2016-17

Thur 27 Oct   Being a Writer Workshop with Kimberly O’Sullivan

1-3pm. Matthew Talbot Homelessness Service, 82 Hannell Street, Wickham

Wed 9 Nov Peer Support and Mentoring with Kerri Shying

Wed 23 Nov Peer Support and Mentoring with Kerri Shying

Thurs 8 Dec   Blogging for Beginners with Kimberly O’Sullivan

Wed 18 Jan Peer Support and Mentoring – Hunter Writers Centre Membership

Thurs 2 Feb Peer Support and Mentoring with Kerri Shying

Wed 15 Feb Peer Support and Mentoring with Kerri Shying

Thur 2 Mar Publishing and Pitching Workshop with Kimberly O’Sullivan

Wed 15 Mar Peer Support and Mentoring with Kerri Shying

Fri 7- Sun 9 Apr Peer Support and Mentoring – Newcastle Writers Festival

Wed 19 Apr Peer Support and Mentoring with Kerri Shying

Wed 3 May Peer Support and Mentoring with Kerri Shying

Wed 17/ Thur 18 May Public Reading/Presentation with Kerri Shying

Wed 31 May Peer Support and Mentoring – Final Gathering

To register your interest for the Write Up! group or for more information:
Contact Justine Cogan, at Octapod on 4021 1605 or email access@octapod.org.

This program is a strategic alignment between Octapod and the Hunter Writers Centre to enable, initiate and support participation in the literary arts for people with disability in the Hunter region. This program has been made possible with the support of devolved funding administered by Accessible Arts on behalf of icare (Insurance & Care NSW) and with support from Ability Links NSW.